The historic Quaker Meeting House in Pickering Village has undergone an extensive renovation to create additional community space and neighbourhood programming. Construction included digging out a full basement, and upgrades include a new front entrance and rear addition, and interior accessibility modifications. Construction is expected to be complete in early 2019.
Originally built in 1867, the year of Confedration, by the Society of Friends (Quaker) congregation, the building was purchased and renovated by local Freemasons in 1943. Council approved the transfer of the building and property to the Town in 2015. The transfer aligns with the Town’s Heritage Advisory Committee’s mandate to preserve historical sites, architecture and promote cultural history of the Town of Ajax.
The Town received a grant of $434,800 through the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program to offset the planned renovation costs for the building. The completed facility will continue to be home to a number of Masonic lodges and affiliates which have joined Doric Lodge at this location over the years, and be accessible for a range local community programs and events
The Ajax Heritage Advisory Committee promotes and preserves unique natural, cultural and architectural history, and serves to assist the community in understanding its beginnings, development and future.