Whitby municipal election details and candidates

Elections for municipal government in Ontario are held every four years on the fourth Monday of October. The next municipal election will be held Monday, October 22, 2018, with polls open from 10 a.m. – 8 p.m. For the 2018 Municipal Election, Whitby voters will elect nine Town Council Members for a four-year term of office.

A Voter Notification Card was mailed to every household and to every eligible elector in early October, advising designated voting place. You can bring your voter notification card, but it is not sufficient identification. You must bring photo identification. Electors can only vote once in the Town of Whitby Municipal Election regardless of how many properties they may own or rent in the Town.

Mayoral candidates are Andrea Kennedy and Don Mitchell

Regional Councillor candidates are Chudi Asidianya, John Dolstra, Derrick Gleed, Terry Johnston, Chris Leahy, Rhonda Mulcahy, Rod Thwaites, Christine Winters and Steve Yamada

Town Councillor – North Ward 1 candidates are Steve Lee, Sharmila Saigaonkar and Bill Windrem

Town Councillor – West Ward 2 candidates are Matt Cardwell, Meredith Dodge, Deidre Newman, Tracy Roulston and Kimberly Zeppieri

Town Councillor – Centre Ward candidates are JoAnne Alexander, Bob Baker, Michael G. Emm and Dave Sansom

Town Councillor – East Ward 4 candidates are Carleen Blissett, Paul Johnston, Chris Jones, Liam Nichols and Maleeha Shahid

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This